New leaders for student body

Sophia Kim, Asst. Web Editor

After arduously campaigning last week for a spot as a class officer in the upcoming fall semester, the newly elected committees are ready to lead their class.

The upcoming senior class of 2018 will be lead by Hampton Douglas for his fourth year, along with Danton Wong as vice president, Steven Liang as secretary, Kevin Lew as social chair and Clarissa Hui as historian. There has been no change of officer position for the last two years.

“I’m looking forward to the officers putting together amazing senior activities to give our class our final hurrah,” Douglas said.

For the upcoming juniors, Megan Young will lead the class of 2019 for her second term. Victor Chai has been chosen as vice president, Andy Tsai as secretary, Kyle Lew as social chair and Patrick Ma as historian. Kyle Lew is the only new class officer joining the committee as the former social chairperson decided not to run again.

“It felt really good to know that the work I put into the campaign paid off,” Lew said. “As I read the results for class of 2019, a wave of relief hit me.”

The upcoming sophomore class of 2020 will be lead by Jennifer Nie, followed by Michael Cheng as vice president, Rachel Yang as secretary, Eugene Liang as social chair and Eryn Lau as historian. There was a run-off election for the secretary position against Yang and Justin Lieu on Monday and Tuesday, after they finished in a tie. However, Yang became secretary in the run-off vote.  

An average of 115 students voted for the class of 2018, while an average of 300 students and 270 students voted for class of 2019 and 2020 respectively.